My Mental Health Journey

Dont Let ANYONE Dull Your Sparkle!

I dont know how long this post will be, but I still want to share 🙂

So, as I have been for the past 1-2 weeks since my brain storm, I have been waking up mostly happy and content; tired, but still in a good mood. Today, I get to work, determined to review my stats for the past week and set myself up for the day.. And as usual, when dealing with the general public, you come across people in less than optimistic moods/mind-frames.

And its so hard to not let these kind of people get to you, and bring you down, and affect your mood. I know this all too well. I used to work with a guy who was so hard-pressed to view things positively instead of negatively; and as much as you would try to fight it it was hard to repel it on a constant level.

But today I made it my mission to, in the words of Taylor Swift lol, “Shake It Off!”. And I was pretty successful I have to say! I happen to know abit about this particular person, but regardless, you know what realization struck me? It was very close to sympathy for that person; I am actively trying to control my thoughts and actions to become a better, happier person. But not everyone has reached this point. And whilst I cannot control the thoughts and actions of others, I can control (mostly – and I am getting better with practice!) my thoughts and actions. And why does this matter in relation to others? I can control how others’ behavior does, or doesnt, affect me. I can wallow in their negativity, or I can “Shake It Off’ and move on with my day.

Today when I practiced this, it was hard at first. But honestly, only for like 5-10mins. Then I pushed all the negativity out, with the knowledge that although the other person wasnt able to interact positively with themselves or others, I was capable of feeling joy and I actively wanted to share that joy with others.

Leave a Reply

